Abygail Streff is Named Collegiate Discussion Meet Champion

Abygail Streff is Named Collegiate Discussion Meet Champion
December 6th, 2023 | News Release

KEARNEY, NEB. –Abygail Streff of Pierce took top honors at the 2023 Nebraska Farm Bureau (NEFB) Collegiate Discussion Meet.  The award was announced Dec. 5 at the “We Love Our Members” luncheon at Nebraska Farm Bureau’s 106th Annual Convention in Kearney.  

Streff’s earned the top score during the final round of Nebraska Farm Bureau’s Collegiate Discussion Meet held for the first time during the Nebraska Farm Bureau Annual Meeting and Convention. The contest aims to simulate a committee meeting rather than a debate where competitors offer solutions to timely problems facing agriculture.  

Streff is currently a junior Agricultural Economics major at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln (UNL), where she also serves as the UNL Collegiate Farm Bureau President. Streff currently is an intern to the Governor’s Agriculture Advisor. She anticipates finishing her bachelor’s degree in December 2024.   

Farm Bureau student members can compete in the Collegiate Discussion Meet through their senior year of college. As the Nebraska winner, Streff will receive $250 and an all-expense paid trip to the 2024 American Farm Bureau Leadership Conference in Omaha in March to compete with other state winners at the national level.


© 2024 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information