Kansas Corn Commission Election Results; Belton Joins KCC Board Representing Central District

Kansas Corn Commission Election Results; Belton Joins KCC Board Representing Central District
March 16th, 2023 | Kansas Corn

March 16, 2023–Kansas 2023 Commodity Commission Elections have concluded and newly elected and reelected Kansas Corn Commissioners will begin their three-year terms on April 1, 2023. Mike Brzon, Courtland, was reelected to represent the north central district; Derek Belton, Tampa, was elected to represent the central district, and Kent Moore, Iuka was reelected to represent the south central district. The commodity commission elections were conducted by the Kansas Department of Agriculture. Commissioners are elected by growers in their respective districts.

Belton, of Belton Farms in Marion County, is the newest commissioner, filling the seat of retiring commissioner, Terry Vinduska, who served as a commissioner for 29 years. Belton first became involved with Kansas Corn as a member of the third class of the Kansas Corn Corps young farmer program. Belton recently represented Kansas corn growers on a US Grains Council trade mission to Latin America. While there he learned about the programs we fund through our partnership with USGC and how the work done international develops markets, enables trades and improves lives.

“The fresh perspectives brought by new farmers on our board are exciting,” says Kent Moore, Kansas Corn Commission chairman. “We have a good mix of experience and vision that will provide our check-off with great leadership for the future. I am honored to continue serving the corn growers of Kansas and look forward to continuing to grow our state’s corn industry through research, education and market development.” 

The Kansas Corn Commission is made up of farmers elected from each of the nine crop reporting districts in the state. The commission determines how checkoff funds will be invested in the areas of market development, education, promotion and research.

Farmers elected to other commodity commissions are as follows:

District 4, North Central

  • Sorghum- Matthew Benoit
  • Wheat- Michael McClellan

District 5, Central

  • Soybeans- Keith Miller

District 6, South Central

  •  Wheat- Martin Kerschen

© 2023 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information