Weekend wrestling results

Weekend wrestling results
(MGN Online)
January 30th, 2023 | Chris Cottrell

Here’s a look at some high school wrestling results from the weekend from around the region with Gering in Colorado, Scottsbluff in Kansas, with other area teams competing at Mitchell.

Mitchell Invite

On Saturday at Mitchell High School the boys team champion was the homestanding Tigers winning big by a 56.5 point margin over second place Chadron. And in the girls competition the team title went to Chadron, who won by 26 points over Bridgeport.

For individual weight class results you can CLICK HERE for the results from TrackWrestling.

Boys Standings

  1. Mitchell 155
  2. Chadron 98.5
  3. Sidney 81
  4. Bridgeport 65
  5. Hemingford 59
  6. Kimball 59
  7. Morrill 59
  8. Hay Springs 57
  9. Scottsbluff JV 55.5
  10. Crawford 27
  11. Banner County 15
  12. Sioux County 11
  13. Minatare 0

Girls Standings

  1. Chadron 66
  2. Bridgeport 40
  3. Bayard 36
  4. Sidney 36
  5. Mitchell 30
  6. Gering 26
  7. Hay Springs 12
  8. Hemingford 12
  9. Scottsbluff 12
  10. Morrill 8

Gering wins meet in Colorado

The Gering Bulldogs picked up tournament title over the weekend winning in Westminster, Colorado with a total of 195.5 points, besting second place Pueblo Central, who scored 169 points. Gering was the only Nebraska team at the competition.

Gering got individual first place finishes from Frost Wallace (106), Jordan Shirley (132), Taydon Gorsuch (190), and Collin Schwartzkopf (215).

For individual results you can CLICK HERE.

Scottsbluff shows well at huge meet in Kansas

The Rocky Welton Tournament in Garden City, Kansas featured a huge field of 32 teams on Saturday with Scottsbluff finishing inside the top 10 in 9th place in the team standings. The Bearcats finished with 114 points. Pine Creek out of the Colorado Springs area was the champion with 198 points.

Connor Whiteley (34-1) earned a tournament title at 136 lbs, finishing his day with a 5-0 record.

For individual results you can CLICK HERE.


© 2023 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information