Evnen announces Presidential slate for May primary

Evnen announces Presidential slate for May primary
February 28th, 2024 | News Release

Nebraska Secretary of State Bob Evnen identified the presidential candidates for Nebraska’s primary ballot. Nebraska’s statewide primary is May 14, 2024.

The candidates are listed below in alphabetical order (by last name) under their respective party.

Republican Party
: Nikki Haley, Perry Johnson (by petition), Donald J. Trump

Democratic Party: Joseph R. Biden Jr., Dean Phillips

Libertarian Party: Charles Ballay, Jacob Hornberger, Lars Mapstead, Chase Russell Oliver, Michael Rectenwald, Mike ter Maat

Legal Marijuana NOW Party: No recognized candidates

While no presidential candidates were recognized for the Legal Marijuana NOW Party, interested individuals can petition onto the ballot.

Nebraska law states the Secretary of State must place the names of candidates:

  • Who are presented by petition of their supporters, or
  • Who have been determined by the Secretary of State to be generally advocated or recognized as candidates in national news media throughout the United States.

Listed candidates who wish to remove their names from the ballot have until March 11, 2024, to file an affidavit with the Secretary of State. March 14, 2024, is the last day for partisan presidential candidates who are not listed to file for the primary via petition. By the statutory deadline of March 22, 2024, the Secretary of State will certify the statewide primary ballot. For more information and a list of statewide candidates, visit the Secretary of State’s website: sos.nebraska.gov.


© 2024 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information