NDA announces 2023-2024 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council Members

NDA announces 2023-2024 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council Members
November 17th, 2023 | Nebraska Department of Agriculture

The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) develops and supports the next generation of ag leaders through the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council (NAYC). NAYC is a group of college students working together to share their passion and knowledge about agriculture with young people across the state. NDA is proud to sponsor NAYC and announce the 2023-2024 Council members.

“NAYC has a long-standing tradition of leadership excellence in Nebraska agriculture,” said NDA Director Sherry Vinton. “NAYC members are skilled, talented, and knowledgeable. They are committed to learning as much as they can about Nebraska agriculture and sharing their knowledge and passion with others. I look forward to working with these Council members as they grow their leadership skills.”

NAYC members coordinate and participate in a wide range of ag-focused activities and events throughout the year. They visit elementary schools to talk about where food comes from and visit with high school students about career opportunities in agriculture. The primary focus of NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute (NAYI), a five-day summer conference with speakers, workshops, and networking opportunities for high school juniors and seniors.

NAYI is in its 53rd year and is the longest running event of its kind in the nation. It is made possible through the donations of many generous sponsors.

Here is a list of the 2023-2024 NAYC leadership and their hometowns:

  • Head Counselors: Levi Schiller (Scribner); and Kaleb Senff (Axtell);
  • President: Madison Kreifels (Syracuse);
  • Secretary: Logan Hafer (Long Pine);
  • Vice President of Communications and Social Media: Jessie Lamp (Ashland);
  • Vice President of Alumni Relations: Emma Snoberger (Aurora);
  • Vice President of NAYI Improvement and Promotions: Kailey Ziegler (Waco);
  • Vice President of Youth Outreach: Seth Wert (Hordville); and
  • Vice President of Sponsorship: Jenna Knake (Syracuse).

Additional NAYC members include: Laura Albro, Bayard; Brie Bruns, Pender; Caleb Burnside, Stapleton; Vickie Ference, Ord; Ben Kamrath, Columbus; Ethan Kreikemeier, West Point; Kendra Loseke, Blair; Caleb Most, Ogallala; Kendall Prior, Imperial; Connor Snyder, McCook; Evan Svanda, Nehawka; and Carleigh Tietz, Norfolk.

“Teaching youth about the value of agriculture is an important part of our work,” said Christin Kamm, NDA Director of Communications and NAYC Advisor. “The student leaders who serve on NAYC are some of the best and brightest in the industry. They are dedicated to promoting Nebraska agriculture and providing valuable insight and advice to young Nebraskans about the many different careers available in the ag industry.”


© 2024 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information