Tractor safety training course for teens now open for registration

Tractor safety training course for teens now open for registration
March 14th, 2023 | News Release

A tractor safety training course for teens, available across 7 sites in Nebraska, is now open for registration.

Nebraska Extension and Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, College of Public Health, have announced plans for the annual “tractor safety” training courses scheduled at 7 sites across Nebraska in late May and early June.

Teens 14 or 15 years of age who work on farms, or others who are interested in learning about safe farming practices, are encouraged to register for the certification course. Students under age 14 are not eligible for certification but the hands-on events are open to everyone in the community. Children under 14 years of age must be accompanied by an adult. 

Students will complete the first day of the course either by attending a hands-on event in North Platte or Grand Island, or online through the eXtension Foundation Campus website. The hands-on events will take place on May 22 in North Platte and May 30 in Grand Island. After successfully completing the hands-on event or the online course and testing, the required driving test will be offered at 7 locations across Nebraska May 23 through June 8, 2023.

Federal law prohibits children under 16 years of age from using certain equipment on a farm unless their parents or legal guardians own the farm. However, certification received through the course grants an exemption to the law allowing 14- and 15-year-olds to drive a tractor and to do field work with certain mechanized equipment.

The hands-on events and the online course will cover the required elements of the National Safe Tractor and Machinery Operation Program, including quizzes which students must pass to attend the driving portion of training. Once a student is registered, they will be sent instructions, materials, course paperwork and a link to the online course if they will not be attending the a hands-on event.

The onsite driving training and exam will include a driving test and equipment operation and ATV safety lessons. Students must demonstrate competence in hitching and unhitching equipment and driving a tractor and trailer through a standardized course. Instructors will also offer education about safe behaviors and laws for ATVs, utility-task vehicles (UTVs), and other off-road vehicles (ORVs).

Instructors for the course are members of the Central States Center for Agricultural Safety and Health: Aaron Yoder, Ellen Duysen and Risto Rautiainen; and Nebraska Extension educators Randy Saner, Ron Seymour, and John Thomas.

The cost of the course is $35 and includes educational materials, the online learning link (if applicable), and supplies. Payment will be made at the time of the driving exam. Only checks and cash can be accepted.

Hands-on training, driving dates, site locations, and site coordinator contact information is below:

Hands-On Safety Days (If not attending a Hands-On Safety Day, online course must be completed).

Tractor Driving Days

  • May 23 – Lincoln County Extension Office, 348 West State Farm Rd., North Platte
    Contacts:  Randy Saner randy.saner@unl.edu and Vicki Neidhardt vicki.neidhardt@unl.edu 308.532.2683
  • May 31 – Raising Nebraska, 501 East Fonner Park Rd., Grand Island
    Contacts:  Randy Saner randy.saner@unl.edu and Vicki Neidhardt vicki.neidhardt@unl.edu 308.532.2683
  • June 1 – Legacy of the Plains Museum, 2930 Old Oregon Trail, Gering
    Contacts: John Thomas jthomas2@unl.edu or Stacy Brown sbrown7@unl.edu 308.632.1480
  • June 2 – AKRS Equipment, 49110 US Hwy 20 in O’Neill
    Contact:  Debra Walnofer dwalnofer2@unl.edu 402.336.2760
  • June 6 – Adams County Extension, 2975 South Baltimore Ave., Hastings
    Contact:  Ron Seymour ron.seymour@unl.edu  402.461.7209
  • June 7 – Cuming County Fairgrounds, W. Washington St., West Point
    Contact: Mary Jo Lueckenhoff mlueckenhoff1@unl.edu or Melissa Hagemeister mhagemeister5@unl.edu402.372.6006
  • June 8 – Cass County Fairgrounds, 8400 144th St, Weeping Water
    Contact: Sandy Prall sprall2@unl.edu 402.267.2205

Please Click Here for Registration Form

If you have questions please contact the administrator listed above at your driving site, or contact Ellen Duysen ellen.duysen@unmc.edu.

Share:

© 2023 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information