Jerry Chlopek elected NPPD Board Chair for 2022

Jerry Chlopek elected NPPD Board Chair for 2022
Courtesy/NPPD — Jerry Chlopek of Columbus.
January 14th, 2022 | Grant Otten Media Relations Specialist - NPPD

Columbus, Neb. – Jerry Chlopek of Columbus was elected as Chair of Nebraska Public Power District’s (NPPD) Board of Directors for 2022 following that body’s annual election of officers Wednesday in Columbus.

Also elected were Melissa Freelend of Kearney as first vice chair, Ed Schrock of Holdrege/Elm Creek as second vice chair, and Wayne Williams as secretary. NPPD Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Laura Kapustka was elected treasurer.

“I am looking forward to serving as Chair of the board during 2022 and continuing to work closely with our management team and board to provide reliable, low-cost and sustainable energy to our customers,” added Chlopek.

Chlopek, who represents Subdivision 9, has served on the NPPD board since 2009. Previously he served as Vice Chair in 2021 and as Secretary in 2020. Chlopek worked for Cornhusker Public Power District for more than 40 years, retiring in 2009 as the utility’s Operations Manager. A graduate of Genoa High School Jerry served in the U.S. Marine Corps and the Army Reserve.

Chlopek represents Subdivision 9 which consists of Butler, Platte, and Polk Counties.

The Board of Directors also re-appointed Christine Pillen as deputy assistant treasurer. Jan Modelski was re-appointed as assistant secretary, and Sandra Keefover and Mindy Scott as deputy assistant secretaries. All are from Columbus.


© 2022 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information