USDA Designates 2 Kansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

USDA Designates 2 Kansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas
September 18th, 2023 | News Release

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.  

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional. 

Impacted Area: Kansas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: May 13, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible:  Riley, Wabaunsee 

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Clay, Geary, Lyon, Marshall, Morris, Osage, Pottawatomie, Shawnee, Washington 

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.


© 2024 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information