Badura Leads After Two Rounds

Badura Leads After Two Rounds
July 20th, 2021 | Nebraska Golf Association

ELKHORN (July 20, 2021) – Aurora’s Danica Badura extended her lead on a tough scoring day at The Club at Indian Creek in Elkhorn on Tuesday, and leads by four after the second round of the 47th Nebraska Women’s Amateur Championship.

After two under-par rounds on Monday, there were none during the second round. It was a slow start for Badura, the defending champion, but she steadied herself and began to separate from the field. She followed her first round 69 (-3) with a 77 (+5) on Tuesday, and leads by four strokes with a 146 (+2).

Badura, a University of South Dakota golfer, bogeyed four of the first eight holes, but everyone in the field was over-par on the difficult Black Bird nine. She bounced back with with a birdie on No. 18 to make the turn in 39 (+3), still with the leaad. Badura made just two bogeys on the back nine and her lead grew to four strokes.

Papillion’s Sydney Taake maintained her place in second, but fell back a few strokes with a round of 80 (+8). The soon-to-be Omaha Maverick also got off to a slow start, with bogeys on five of her first six holes. She also bounced back to stay within striking distance of Badura, four strokes back at 150 (+6).

Kaitlyn Hanna of Omaha posted the round of the day, a 75 (+3), to move closer to the lead. The 2019 Nebraska Girls’ Amateur Champion was even-par through 14 holes and was only the player even close to par. She bogeyed three of her final four holes, but still sits in third at 152 (+8), six strokes back.

The second-best round of the day went to Scottsbluff’s Emily Krzyzanowski, who shot 76 (+4) to jump into solo-fourth at 154 (+10). Wahoo’s Lindsey Thiele rounds out the top five after a round 79 (+7), and is 11 strokes back 157 (+13).

The Final Round begins t 8 a.m., with the leaders set to tee-off at 9:30 a.m. Pairings are available on the championship website below, along with the scoring page and additional information.


© 2021 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information