Marshall receives NAFB award for dedication to farm broadcasting

Marshall receives NAFB award for dedication to farm broadcasting
November 18th, 2022 | Staff

Tim Marshall, CEO of the Nebraska Rural Radio Association, received the prestigious 2022 Dix Harper Meritorious Service Award from the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB).

The award, presented at the NAFB Convention in Kansas City, Missouri, is the highest honor NAFB presents to an Allied Industry or Management & Sales Council member. The award is given to someone who has demonstrated exemplary and committed service to NAFB.

Marshall first joined the Association in 2013 as the station manager of KRVN in Lexington, Nebraska. He was promoted to Chief Operating Officer in 2018 and then Chief Executive Officer in 2019.

Marshall has made significant contributions to the broadcast industry, as on-air talent, within sales and marketing teams, and now at the management level.

Marshall has a history of advocating for farm broadcasters by knowing the importance of local farm and ranch news, markets and weather information. In his current position, Marshall oversees the Rural Radio Network, which employs six farm broadcasters to cover the region.

With Marshall at the helm, the Nebraska Rural Radio Association has grown from six stations to 14. The Rural Radio Network now covers six states across the country.

With his diverse experiences, Marshall also served several terms on the NAFB Board of Directors, helping to guide the organization.

Perhaps his favorite saying for moving the industry forward is, “Respect the past, honor the present, and create the future.”

This coveted recognition is presented each year at NAFB Convention. It began in 1957 when the officers of NATRFD, under the leadership of President Jack Timmons, decided to honor an Allied Industry Council member with a Meritorious Service plaque.

The recipient is selected by a secret ballot of NAFB members.


© 2022 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information