Lexington sweeps Scottsbluff In Subs

Lexington sweeps Scottsbluff In Subs
Lexington wins B-8 over Scottsbluff-Courtesy Photo
May 5th, 2021 | Jayson Jorgensen

Scottsbluff-Lexington’s winning ways continued on Tuesday night as they won the B-8 Subdistrict
2-0 over Scottsbluff. The Minutemaids won despite being outshot 20-8. Citlali Prado and Abby Allen each scored while Marlene Vargas had an assist. Alyssa Winter was solid in goal again as she stopped 18 shots and posted another shutout. Lexington coach Keith Allen says it was a fun day. ” A great effort and team win by the girls, quite a few Lex supporters to help cheer on the kids. An unbelievable feeling to avenge the earlier loss to the Lady Bearcats–pure excitement and smiles from the kids, coaches and parents. Done this a long time, and don’t remember the same excitement and enthusiasm as parents rushed the field to take pictures of the team.” Lexington is now 13-4 on the year and has won 10 in a row. They will host a District final for the first time in school history on Saturday. Scottsbluff despite the loss will also play in a District final on this weekend.

Lexington-After giving up an early goal on a penalty kick, the Lexington Minutemen responded with seven straight goals to down Scottsbluff 7-1 in the B-8 Subdistrict final. Scottsbluff scored in the fourth minute as Aaron Schaff was fouled near the net. Lexington however bounced back with four goals before halftime and led 4-1 at the break. Lexington scored three more times in the second half to put the game away. The second ranked Minutemen are now 17-1 and will host a District final. Scottsbluff also figures to qualify for a District final as well despite the loss.

SHS Goal:
4′ PK goal by #10

Lex Goals:
18′ #11 Diego Martinez assisted by #9 Yoskar Galvan
21′ #18 Fredy Vargas assisted by #11 Diego Martinez
24′ #20 Ernesto Vargas
31’#9 Yoskar Galvan
55′ #16 Alex Perez assisted by #4 Jason Tovar
56’#11 Diego Martinez assisted by #19 Victor Guzman
73′ #23 Harold Pineda assisted by #28 Zeke Lucas


© 2021 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information