class="post-template-default single single-post postid-314967 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7 vc_responsive"
Palomo, Peters earn MVP honors in Panhandle Prep wins | Rural Radio Network

Palomo, Peters earn MVP honors in Panhandle Prep wins

Palomo, Peters earn MVP honors in Panhandle Prep wins
Joziah Palomo, Gering, took home MVP honors on Saturday night.

The 24th Annual Panhandle Prep All-Star basketball games were held Saturday night at WNCC’s Cougar Palace.

(Point totals are unofficial)

Boys Game

In the nightcap it was Gering’s Joziah Palomo winning MVP honors with 16 points and plenty of slick passing while fellow teammate, Scottsbluff’s Devin Buderus finished with a team high 20 points as the Orange Team downed the Green Team by the final of 116-105.

The Orange Team outscored the Green Team 34-20 in the fourth quarter.

Orange          23    32    27    34          116

Green            32    28    25    20          105

O- Buderus 20, Jon Smith (Sidney) 18, Palomo 16, Dylan Lower (Mitchell 11), Tyler Pszanka (Gering) 10, Coy Bila (Chadron) 9, Connor Dormann (Sidney) 8, Harley Rhoades (Douglas) 7, Noah Bruner (Scottsbluff) 7, Jeff Cerny (Chadron) 6, Vince Quijas (Scottsbluff) 6, Riley Reisig (Mitchell) 2

G- Jared ,Nelson (G-R) 19, Aaron Alcorn (Crawford) 24, Korby Campbell (G-R) 14, Eric Stevens (Bridgeport) 12, Trigg Peasley (Wheatland) 11, Sterling Werner (Southeast) 5, Nic Koppman (G. County) 5, Zac Gunter (Wheatland) 5, Jake Rocheleau (Gering) 4, Owen Shelmadine (Alliance) 3, Trace Beguin (G-R) 0, Morgan Hurlburt (G-R) 0

Girls Game

After the Green Team cut a big deficit to 7 in the third quarter it was the Orange Team rattling off a 39-22 fourth stanza to pull away for a 108-81 victory.

Jori Peters of Mitchell was named the MVP with a 19 point performance, while feeding teammates for numerous fast break baskets. Leading the Green Team in scoring was Payje Misegadis of Creek Valley; she had 20 points.

Dana Dunbar from Chadron led the Green Team with a 17 point performance.

Orange         34    18    17    39          108

Green           18     14    27    22           81

O- Peters 19, Misegadis 20, Kelli Horstman (Hemingford) 13, Audrey Juelfs (Potter-Dix) 11, Victoria Schwartz (Mitchell) 10, Stefani Tarin (Morill) 8, Makenna Dahlgrin (Banner County) 8, Angela Johnson (Sioux County) 7, Cortney Knisley (Banner County) 5, Devanney Halley (Scottsbluff) 2

G- Dunbar 17, Hannah Biesecker (Kimball) 12, Brittney Newkirk (Bridgeport) 11, Audra Kippes (Hyannis) 9, Sara Monahan (Hyannis) 7, Emma Roberts (Hay Springs) 7, Taylor Noe (Scottsbluff) 6, Sami Schmid (Creek Valley) 3, Miranda Gilkey (Lusk) 0, Kaitlyn Nein (Bridgeport) 0

Crawford’s Aaron Alcorn won the Dunk Contest.

Award Winners

Boys MVP: Joziah Palomo, Gering

Girls MVP: Jori Peters, Mitchell

Dunk Contest: Aaron Alcorn, Crawford

Girls 3 pt: Sara Monahan, Hyannis

Boys 3 pt: Dylan Lower, Mitchell

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information