class="post-template-default single single-post postid-346030 single-format-standard group-blog masthead-fixed full-width singular wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2 vc_responsive"
Bridgeport and Torrington elect new mayors | Rural Radio Network

Bridgeport and Torrington elect new mayors

Bridgeport and Torrington elect new mayors

Bridgeport and Torrington have elected new mayors and there were mixed results for economic development initiatives being considered in neighboring communities.

In Bridgeport retired probation officer Charlie Browne defeated John Erickson, succeeding long time mayor Jack Berg. In Torrington Randy Adams won the mayor’s race and will move into the seat being vacated by Mike Varney. Torrington voters also elected incumbent Deanna Hill and Ted Kinney to the city council.

In Kimball Keith Prunty was re-elected to the mayor’s post, beating challenger James Cederburg. Kimball voters also elected incumbent Christy Warner and Matt Bright to the council. The Kimball County Commission will be short one incumbent commissioner as Democrat Darla Anderson-Faden lost to Republican Brandon Mossberg and Democratic inumbent Larry Engstrom. Kimball County Clerk of the District Court Deb Diemoz won re-election as did Banner County Attorney Jim Zimmerman.

Bridgeport’s first effort to approve an LB 840 program failed, but the village of Harrison approved a half cent sales tax and Goshen County approved their quarter cent economic development tax.

© 2018 Nebraska Rural Radio Association. All rights reserved. Republishing, rebroadcasting, rewriting, redistributing prohibited. Copyright Information